IB Tutors

Our IB tutors are all experienced teachers and subject specialists. They can provide support across a range of subjects, specifications and many have experience working as examiners. Here you will find useful information about the IB qualification, links to informative articles and our tutors. Please use the search bar below to refine your search by subject and specification. Owl Tutors can provide tutors for both home and online tuition.

Do you provide online IB tutoring?


All IB tutors are skilled teachers and have extensive experience supporting students online, using a range of resources and software. Teachers have flexibility in what resources they use and how they use them.


How much IB experience do your tutors have?


All of our tutors are qualified teachers and many of them have taught or currently teach in International Schools. That means they know the IB syllabus and their subject inside out.

While subject knowledge is hugely important, it’s also important that tutors know the assessment requirements for each of their subjects given the unique nature of IB assessments. Fortunately, many of our tutors have experience working as IB assessors.

What IB subjects do you support?

We have subject specialists for all IB subjects, including IA and EE support. We also have a team of Theory of Knowledge (ToK) specialists, who can provide focused support in a rewarding and very unique situation.


What is the IB?

The IB is comprised of several different programmes for different ages. Here we will be focusing exclusively on the Diploma Programme, which is usually studied by students between the ages of 16 to 19.

The Diploma Programme comprises of the study of six subjects across a number of classifications. Students have some choice in these areas but all students are expected to complete mandatory requirements for Creativity, Action and Service (CAS) and Theory of Knowledge (ToK). Aside from traditional exams students are also expected to complete an Extended Essay.

How can I help my child with their IB studies?

Compared to other Level 3 qualifications, such as A level, the IB Diploma is quite broad and retains some similarities to GCSEs initially. Students are required to study a broad range of topics although they have some choice in the difficulty level. Therefore, it’s important that students think very carefully at the start of the course about their relative strengths and weaknesses.

Like many other post 16 courses, organisation and preparation are really important. By the time the examinations come along a student will have to refer back to work they started at least two years previously. Clear note-taking, folder organisation and revision timetabling may not be the most glamorous tasks, but make a huge difference. It’s also a great way for a student to feel in control of their learning and not overwhelmed.

Planning and organisation can also go a really long way with the Extended Essay (EE) which contains three ‘reflection’ periods over the course of researching and writing the essay. It’s really important that each of these are completed at the right time and not retrospectively. Assessors are pretty good at noticing when a reflection is ‘in the moment’ and when one is ‘after the event’.

Many students find that they benefit from one to one support, whether that is with a mentor, friend or a tutor. The benefits of this one to one support is that difficult areas can be focused on in greater detail. Questions can be answered and advice given. It’s important that when employing a tutor that it is done with integrity. The tutor should be familiar with the IB syllabus and in our opinion, a qualified teacher. A tutor who has taught the course and assessed it, will have a deeper understanding than a tutor that hasn’t. Equally, a tutor can also help with ‘stretch and challenge’. Many students can benefit from one to one support to go above and beyond their classroom learning.

Useful links

You may find the following links useful:

IB Diploma Curriculum

IB Diploma Assessment Information

IB blog posts

Tips and advice from our expert IB tutors.